Best Physician Mortgage Loans (2026): 7 Lenders Compared
Seven physician mortgage programs, compared on what each lender puts in writing: down payment by loan size, the top loan, mortgage insurance, rate types, and where each one lends. Tick any two or three to compare them side by side.
On This Page
In this review
Helpful Resources
- Physician Student Loans (2026): PSLF, Refinancing and Repayment — The Complete Library
- Moonlighting as a Resident: Taxes, Contracts, and How Much You Can Actually Make (2026)
- Physician Contract Red Flags: 10 Things to Never Sign Without Negotiating (2026)
- Doctor Loan vs. Physician Mortgage: Is There a Difference? (2026)
Key takeaways
- •Five lenders publish 0% down to $1 million: Huntington, TD Bank, Truist, BMO, and Flagstar. Bank of America’s minimum is 3% down.
- •The highest published ceilings are KeyBank’s $3.5 million (tiers not published) and Huntington’s $2.5 million at about 10% down.
- •Want a fixed rate? TD Bank, BMO, and KeyBank publish fixed-rate options. Huntington and Flagstar are adjustable only.
- •Six of seven state no mortgage insurance; Bank of America doesn’t say.
- •No lender publishes its rates. Same-day written quotes are the only way to compare price.
A physician mortgage lets a doctor buy with little or no down payment and no mortgage insurance, and counts a signed contract as income. Every major program advertises roughly that. The differences are in the details each lender chooses to publish: how far 0% down goes, whether a fixed rate is available, which degrees qualify, and which states are covered. We read each lender’s own program page and recorded only what it states. Full reviews of each lender are linked below.
An earlier version of this page gave each lender a star rating and a badge. The ratings were our judgment, not the lenders’ terms, and they made lenders look more alike than they are, so we replaced them with the terms themselves. How these loans work, and when a conventional loan is the better deal, is in our physician mortgage guide.
Seven lenders, side by side
Tick up to 3 lenders to compare them side by side.
| Lender | Lowest down payment | Top loan | Mortgage insurance | Rate types | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Huntington Bank | 0% down to $1M | $2.5M | None | 3-, 5-, 7-, 10-, and 15-year ARMs | No state list published |
| TD Bank | 0% down to $1M | $2M | None | Fixed-rate or adjustable-rate | 16 states and DC listed |
| KeyBank | Tiers not published | $3.5M | None | Fixed or variable rate | 15 states and DC listed |
| Truist | 0% down to $1M | $2M | None | Not stated | All states except Alaska, Arizona, Hawaii |
| BMO | 0% down to $1M | $2M | None | All standard fixed- and adjustable-rate mortgage products | All states except New York |
| Flagstar Bank | 0% down to $1M | $1.5M | None | Adjustable rate only: 5/6, 7/6 and 10/6 ARMs | All states except Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands |
| Bank of America | 3% down minimum | $2M | Not stated | Not stated | No state list published |
- Lowest down payment
- 0% down to $1M
- Top loan
- $2.5M
- Mortgage insurance
- None
- Rate types
- 3-, 5-, 7-, 10-, and 15-year ARMs
- Where
- No state list published
- Lowest down payment
- 0% down to $1M
- Top loan
- $2M
- Mortgage insurance
- None
- Rate types
- Fixed-rate or adjustable-rate
- Where
- 16 states and DC listed
- Lowest down payment
- Tiers not published
- Top loan
- $3.5M
- Mortgage insurance
- None
- Rate types
- Fixed or variable rate
- Where
- 15 states and DC listed
- Lowest down payment
- 0% down to $1M
- Top loan
- $2M
- Mortgage insurance
- None
- Rate types
- Not stated
- Where
- All states except Alaska, Arizona, Hawaii
- Lowest down payment
- 0% down to $1M
- Top loan
- $2M
- Mortgage insurance
- None
- Rate types
- All standard fixed- and adjustable-rate mortgage products
- Where
- All states except New York
- Lowest down payment
- 0% down to $1M
- Top loan
- $1.5M
- Mortgage insurance
- None
- Rate types
- Adjustable rate only: 5/6, 7/6 and 10/6 ARMs
- Where
- All states except Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands
- Lowest down payment
- 3% down minimum
- Top loan
- $2M
- Mortgage insurance
- Not stated
- Rate types
- Not stated
- Where
- No state list published
Each lender’s own program page, read September 14–20, 2026; dates per lender are in its section below. “Not stated” means the lender’s page is silent.
Down payment by loan size
Every program steps up the down payment as the loan gets bigger. This is where the lenders really differ, and it decides which ones are worth quoting at your price.
| Lender | Published tiers | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Huntington Bank | 0% down to $1M · 5% down to $1.75M · About 10% down to $2.5M | LTV options vary with FICO score, and minimum reserves vary with loan amount; both are stated in Huntington's terms without figures.. |
| TD Bank | 0% down to $1M · 5% down to $1.5M · About 10% down to $2M | Tiers are set by loan amount, not career stage: $1,000,001 to $1,500,000 requires 5% down; $1,500,001 to $2,000,000 requires 10.01%. |
| KeyBank | Not published | KeyBank publishes only the program ceiling. |
| Truist | 0% down to $1M · 5% down to $1.5M · About 10% down to $2M | Tiers are published for practicing doctors and dentists. |
| BMO | 0% down to $1M · 5% down to $1.5M · About 10% down to $2M | Capped at 95% in CA, DC, FL, HI, ID, MD, NV, RI |
| Flagstar Bank | 0% down to $1M · 5% down to $1.5M | Flagstar publishes two tiers. |
| Bank of America | 3% down to $850,000 · 5% down to $1M · 10% down to $1.5M · 15% down to $2M | Bank of America publishes no 0%-down tier. |
- Published tiers
- 0% down to $1M · 5% down to $1.75M · About 10% down to $2.5M
- Notes
- LTV options vary with FICO score, and minimum reserves vary with loan amount; both are stated in Huntington's terms without figures..
- Published tiers
- 0% down to $1M · 5% down to $1.5M · About 10% down to $2M
- Notes
- Tiers are set by loan amount, not career stage: $1,000,001 to $1,500,000 requires 5% down; $1,500,001 to $2,000,000 requires 10.01%.
- Published tiers
- Not published
- Notes
- KeyBank publishes only the program ceiling.
- Published tiers
- 0% down to $1M · 5% down to $1.5M · About 10% down to $2M
- Notes
- Tiers are published for practicing doctors and dentists.
- Published tiers
- 0% down to $1M · 5% down to $1.5M · About 10% down to $2M
- Notes
- Capped at 95% in CA, DC, FL, HI, ID, MD, NV, RI
- Published tiers
- 0% down to $1M · 5% down to $1.5M
- Notes
- Flagstar publishes two tiers.
- Published tiers
- 3% down to $850,000 · 5% down to $1M · 10% down to $1.5M · 15% down to $2M
- Notes
- Bank of America publishes no 0%-down tier.
Lender by lender
PhysicianLoans by Huntington (The Doctor Loan) · (877) 593-9313 · Verified September 14, 2026
| Term | What Huntington Bank publishes |
|---|---|
| Down payment | 0% down to $1M · 5% down to $1.75M · About 10% down to $2.5M |
| Top loan | $2.5M |
| Mortgage insurance | None |
| Rate types | 3-, 5-, 7-, 10-, and 15-year ARMs |
| Eligible degrees | MD, DO, DDS, DMD, DVM |
| Years in practice | No limit published |
| Student loans | Not published |
| Close before you start | Up to 90 days before residency or a new position begins, using the employment contract |
| Property | Primary residence only; purchase or refinance |
| Where it lends | No state list published |
- What Huntington Bank publishes
- 0% down to $1M · 5% down to $1.75M · About 10% down to $2.5M
- What Huntington Bank publishes
- $2.5M
- What Huntington Bank publishes
- None
- What Huntington Bank publishes
- 3-, 5-, 7-, 10-, and 15-year ARMs
- What Huntington Bank publishes
- MD, DO, DDS, DMD, DVM
- What Huntington Bank publishes
- No limit published
- What Huntington Bank publishes
- Not published
- What Huntington Bank publishes
- Up to 90 days before residency or a new position begins, using the employment contract
- What Huntington Bank publishes
- Primary residence only; purchase or refinance
- What Huntington Bank publishes
- No state list published
Full terms, what Huntington Bank leaves out, and sources: our Huntington Bank review. Huntington Bank’s program page
TD Bank Medical Professional Mortgage · 1-866-325-4516 · Verified September 14, 2026
| Term | What TD Bank publishes |
|---|---|
| Down payment | 0% down to $1M · 5% down to $1.5M · About 10% down to $2M |
| Top loan | $2M |
| Mortgage insurance | None |
| Rate types | Fixed-rate or adjustable-rate |
| Eligible degrees | MD, DO, DPM, DDS, DMD |
| Years in practice | Less than 10 years out of residency |
| Student loans | Not published |
| Close before you start | An employment contract can be used as proof of income; no window is published |
| Property | Primary residence only; purchase or refinance. Single-family, condominium, co-op (specific markets), or planned unit development |
| Where it lends | 16 states and DC listed |
- What TD Bank publishes
- 0% down to $1M · 5% down to $1.5M · About 10% down to $2M
- What TD Bank publishes
- $2M
- What TD Bank publishes
- None
- What TD Bank publishes
- Fixed-rate or adjustable-rate
- What TD Bank publishes
- MD, DO, DPM, DDS, DMD
- What TD Bank publishes
- Less than 10 years out of residency
- What TD Bank publishes
- Not published
- What TD Bank publishes
- An employment contract can be used as proof of income; no window is published
- What TD Bank publishes
- Primary residence only; purchase or refinance. Single-family, condominium, co-op (specific markets), or planned unit development
- What TD Bank publishes
- 16 states and DC listed
Banking relationship: A TD Bank checking account in good standing
Full terms, what TD Bank leaves out, and sources: our TD Bank review. TD Bank’s program page
KeyBank Medical Professional Mortgage · 1-888-KEY-0018 (1-888-539-0018) · Verified September 14, 2026
| Term | What KeyBank publishes |
|---|---|
| Down payment | KeyBank publishes only the program ceiling. Down-payment tiers below $3.5 million are not on its page; third-party reviews report 0% down to $1 million, 10% to $2 million and 20% to $3.5 million, but KeyBank has not put those figures in writing. |
| Top loan | $3.5M |
| Mortgage insurance | None |
| Rate types | Fixed or variable rate |
| Eligible degrees | MD, DO, DPM, DDS, DMD |
| Years in practice | No limit published |
| Student loans | Not published |
| Close before you start | Not published |
| Property | One-unit single-family (attached or detached), condominium or planned unit development; purchase, rate/term refinance or cash-out refinance |
| Where it lends | 15 states and DC listed |
- What KeyBank publishes
- KeyBank publishes only the program ceiling. Down-payment tiers below $3.5 million are not on its page; third-party reviews report 0% down to $1 million, 10% to $2 million and 20% to $3.5 million, but KeyBank has not put those figures in writing.
- What KeyBank publishes
- $3.5M
- What KeyBank publishes
- None
- What KeyBank publishes
- Fixed or variable rate
- What KeyBank publishes
- MD, DO, DPM, DDS, DMD
- What KeyBank publishes
- No limit published
- What KeyBank publishes
- Not published
- What KeyBank publishes
- Not published
- What KeyBank publishes
- One-unit single-family (attached or detached), condominium or planned unit development; purchase, rate/term refinance or cash-out refinance
- What KeyBank publishes
- 15 states and DC listed
Banking relationship: Not required for the mortgage; KeyBank advertises a 0.25% rate discount for KeyBank clients, and Key for Doctors enrollment requires any KeyBank checking account
Full terms, what KeyBank leaves out, and sources: our KeyBank review. KeyBank’s program page
Truist Doctor Loan · 855-257-4040 · Verified September 19, 2026
| Term | What Truist publishes |
|---|---|
| Down payment | 0% down to $1M · 5% down to $1.5M · About 10% down to $2M |
| Top loan | $2M |
| Mortgage insurance | None |
| Rate types | Not stated on the program page |
| Eligible degrees | MD, DO, DPM, DDS, DMD |
| Years in practice | Within 15 years of training; 100% and 95% financing only within 10 years |
| Student loans | Excluded from DTI if deferred at least 12 months after closing; a reduced income-driven repayment payment may be accepted with documentation |
| Close before you start | Not published |
| Property | Primary residence only; purchase or refinance |
| Where it lends | All states except Alaska, Arizona, Hawaii |
- What Truist publishes
- 0% down to $1M · 5% down to $1.5M · About 10% down to $2M
- What Truist publishes
- $2M
- What Truist publishes
- None
- What Truist publishes
- Not stated on the program page
- What Truist publishes
- MD, DO, DPM, DDS, DMD
- What Truist publishes
- Within 15 years of training; 100% and 95% financing only within 10 years
- What Truist publishes
- Excluded from DTI if deferred at least 12 months after closing; a reduced income-driven repayment payment may be accepted with documentation
- What Truist publishes
- Not published
- What Truist publishes
- Primary residence only; purchase or refinance
- What Truist publishes
- All states except Alaska, Arizona, Hawaii
Banking relationship: None to qualify under 15 years post-training. A rate discount of 0.25 to 0.75 points applies with $100,000 or more in Truist deposits and investments.
Full terms, what Truist leaves out, and sources: our Truist review. Truist’s program page
BMO Physicians’ Mortgage Program · 1-888-482-3781 · Verified September 20, 2026
| Term | What BMO publishes |
|---|---|
| Down payment | 0% down to $1M · 5% down to $1.5M · About 10% down to $2M |
| Top loan | $2M |
| Mortgage insurance | None |
| Rate types | All standard fixed- and adjustable-rate mortgage products |
| Eligible degrees | MD, DO, DDS, DMD |
| Years in practice | Not eligible after 10 years in practice post-training; 95% maximum financing from year 5 to year 10 |
| Student loans | Not published |
| Close before you start | Employment can start up to 90 days after closing, with evidence of the start date |
| Property | Primary residence only: 1–2 unit, single family, condominium and townhome. Purchase or rate/term refinance. Second homes and investment properties excluded. |
| Where it lends | All states except New York; capped at 95% in CA, DC, FL, HI, ID, MD, NV, RI |
- What BMO publishes
- 0% down to $1M · 5% down to $1.5M · About 10% down to $2M
- What BMO publishes
- $2M
- What BMO publishes
- None
- What BMO publishes
- All standard fixed- and adjustable-rate mortgage products
- What BMO publishes
- MD, DO, DDS, DMD
- What BMO publishes
- Not eligible after 10 years in practice post-training; 95% maximum financing from year 5 to year 10
- What BMO publishes
- Not published
- What BMO publishes
- Employment can start up to 90 days after closing, with evidence of the start date
- What BMO publishes
- Primary residence only: 1–2 unit, single family, condominium and townhome. Purchase or rate/term refinance. Second homes and investment properties excluded.
- What BMO publishes
- All states except New York; capped at 95% in CA, DC, FL, HI, ID, MD, NV, RI
Banking relationship: None to qualify. A 0.125% rate discount applies if the payment is auto-debited from a BMO consumer checking account, authorized at origination.
Full terms, what BMO leaves out, and sources: our BMO review. BMO’s program page
Flagstar Professional Mortgage Loan · 855-372-5626 · Verified September 20, 2026
| Term | What Flagstar Bank publishes |
|---|---|
| Down payment | 0% down to $1M · 5% down to $1.5M |
| Top loan | $1.5M |
| Mortgage insurance | None |
| Rate types | Adjustable rate only: 5/6, 7/6 and 10/6 ARMs |
| Eligible degrees | MD, DO, DDS, DMD, DPM, DVM, OD, PharmD; also Physician Assistant, Registered Nurse, Nurse Anesthetist, Nurse Practitioner, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Attorney, Certified Public Accountant, ATP Pilot |
| Years in practice | Within 10 years of the start of the profession |
| Student loans | Not published |
| Close before you start | Not published |
| Property | Primary residence only: 1-unit, warrantable condo and PUD. Co-ops in the five boroughs of New York City that meet Fannie Mae requirements. Purchase or rate/term refinance. |
| Where it lends | All states except Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands |
- What Flagstar Bank publishes
- 0% down to $1M · 5% down to $1.5M
- What Flagstar Bank publishes
- $1.5M
- What Flagstar Bank publishes
- None
- What Flagstar Bank publishes
- Adjustable rate only: 5/6, 7/6 and 10/6 ARMs
- What Flagstar Bank publishes
- MD, DO, DDS, DMD, DPM, DVM, OD, PharmD; also Physician Assistant, Registered Nurse, Nurse Anesthetist, Nurse Practitioner, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Attorney, Certified Public Accountant, ATP Pilot
- What Flagstar Bank publishes
- Within 10 years of the start of the profession
- What Flagstar Bank publishes
- Not published
- What Flagstar Bank publishes
- Not published
- What Flagstar Bank publishes
- Primary residence only: 1-unit, warrantable condo and PUD. Co-ops in the five boroughs of New York City that meet Fannie Mae requirements. Purchase or rate/term refinance.
- What Flagstar Bank publishes
- All states except Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands
Banking relationship: None published. One Professional or Doctor loan with Flagstar at a time, and occupying borrowers may have no second home or investment property financed with Flagstar.
Full terms, what Flagstar Bank leaves out, and sources: our Flagstar Bank review. Flagstar Bank’s program page
Bank of America Doctor Loan · 866.466.0979 · Verified September 20, 2026
| Term | What Bank of America publishes |
|---|---|
| Down payment | 3% down to $850,000 · 5% down to $1M · 10% down to $1.5M · 15% down to $2M |
| Top loan | $2M |
| Mortgage insurance | The Doctor Loan page does not say whether mortgage insurance is charged or waived. |
| Rate types | Not stated on the program page |
| Eligible degrees | MD, DO, DDS, DMD, OD, DPM, DVM |
| Years in practice | No limit published |
| Student loans | Student debt can often be excluded from total debt; additional documentation is required to show payments are deferred |
| Close before you start | Up to 90 days before employment, residency or fellowship begins (salaried employees only), with extra reserves to cover all debts until the start date |
| Property | Not stated on the program page |
| Where it lends | No state list published |
- What Bank of America publishes
- 3% down to $850,000 · 5% down to $1M · 10% down to $1.5M · 15% down to $2M
- What Bank of America publishes
- $2M
- What Bank of America publishes
- The Doctor Loan page does not say whether mortgage insurance is charged or waived.
- What Bank of America publishes
- Not stated on the program page
- What Bank of America publishes
- MD, DO, DDS, DMD, OD, DPM, DVM
- What Bank of America publishes
- No limit published
- What Bank of America publishes
- Student debt can often be excluded from total debt; additional documentation is required to show payments are deferred
- What Bank of America publishes
- Up to 90 days before employment, residency or fellowship begins (salaried employees only), with extra reserves to cover all debts until the start date
- What Bank of America publishes
- Not stated on the program page
- What Bank of America publishes
- No state list published
Banking relationship: A Bank of America checking or savings account, held or opened before closing. An existing Merrill or Bank of America Private Bank account also qualifies.
Full terms, what Bank of America leaves out, and sources: our Bank of America review. Bank of America’s program page
Which lender, for whom
- •Resident or new attending buying under $1 million: Huntington is open to graduating medical students with a signed contract and lets you close up to 90 days before you start. Truist publishes the clearest student-loan rule: deferred loans are excluded from your debt ratio if deferred at least 12 months past closing.
- •You want a 30-year fixed: TD Bank on the East Coast, BMO everywhere but New York, or KeyBank in its footprint. Huntington and Flagstar publish adjustable rates only.
- •Buying above $2 million: Huntington publishes about 10% down to $2.5 million. KeyBank goes to $3.5 million but doesn’t publish the down payment at that size.
- •Nurse practitioner, PA, or CRNA: Flagstar is the only one of the seven that names you.
- •You already bank with one of them: Truist takes 0.25 to 0.75 points off with $100,000 or more in deposits and investments, KeyBank advertises 0.25% off for clients, and BMO takes 0.125% off for autopay from a BMO checking account.
- •More than five years out of training: check the limits. BMO’s 0% tier ends at year five and the program at ten; Truist caps financing at 89.99% after ten years; TD Bank and Flagstar require fewer than ten years.
Buying in Florida or Texas? Regional banks add more options there; see Florida and Texas physician mortgage lenders.
What about rates?
None of the seven publishes physician loan rates. What is public is the benchmark: the national average 30-year fixed rate was 7.28% as of October 1, 2026 (Freddie Mac, via FRED; see this week’s mortgage rates). Get written quotes from two or three lenders on the same day and compare rate, points, and closing costs together. If you have 20% down, add a conventional quote; our physician mortgage vs. conventional guide shows when that wins.
Frequently asked questions
Which banks offer physician mortgages?
Can I get a physician mortgage with 0% down?
Do physician mortgages charge PMI?
Can I close on a house before I start my attending job?
Are physician mortgage rates higher than conventional rates?
Which physician mortgage offers a 30-year fixed rate?
Can nurse practitioners or PAs get a physician mortgage?
Does SoFi offer a physician mortgage?
Sources
- •PhysicianLoans by Huntington (program home)
- •Huntington: Resident Physician Home Loans
- •Huntington: Practicing Physician Home Loans
- •Huntington: Graduating Medical Student Home Loans
- •TD Bank Medical Professional Mortgage (program page)
- •KeyBank: Medical Professional Loans (program page)
- •Key for Doctors (doctors.key.com; laurelroad.com physician-mortgage pages redirect here)
- •KeyBank: Get to Know Key (15-state branch footprint)
- •Truist Doctor Loan (program page and disclosures)
- •BMO Physicians’ Mortgage Program (program page and footnotes)
- •Flagstar Professional Mortgage Loans (program page and disclosures)
- •Bank of America Doctor Loan (program page and footnotes)
- •Bank of America home loan products for real estate professionals (Doctor Loan section)
Each lender’s page read on the date shown in its section. Lender logos are from each lender’s own website.
This page is for educational purposes and is not lending advice. Terms are each lender’s published terms on the dates shown and change without notice; the lender’s disclosures and your loan documents govern. Links go directly to each lender’s site. See our advertising disclosure.

About the Author
Joshua Dunigan, DO | Family Medicine Resident & Founder
I'm a family medicine resident physician at Broadlawns Medical Center in Des Moines, Iowa (class of 2027). I founded MedMoneyGuide to give physicians specialty-specific financial guidance, with sources you can check.






