30-yr fixed mortgage (US avg):6.95%

Bank of America Doctor Loan Review (2026): 3% Down to $850K, No 0% Option, and the Reserves Most Residents Don’t Have

Bank of America's Doctor Loan is the most conservative program we've reviewed. There is no 0% down tier, you need four to six months of payments in reserve, and you need excellent credit and a BofA account. In return it names medical students, takes optometrists and veterinarians, and has no years-out limit. Here is the program in the bank's own terms.

Joshua Dunigan, DO
EDITOR-IN-CHIEFJoshua Dunigan, DO
Fact Checked
Updated September 20, 2026

Key takeaways

  • No 0% down. The tiers are 3% down to $850,000, 5% to $1M, 10% to $1.5M, and 15% to $2M.
  • Reserves are required: 4 to 6 months of full housing payments, plus more if you close before your job starts. “Excellent credit” and a Bank of America account are required too.
  • Medical students are named, along with residents, fellows, and practicing MD, DO, DDS, DMD, OD, DPM, and DVM. Researchers and professors are excluded.
  • No years-out limit is published, and deferred student loans can often be excluded. Mortgage insurance, rate types, and states aren’t addressed on the page.

Most physician mortgages are built around one idea: a doctor with no savings and a signed contract is a good risk. Bank of America’s Doctor Loan accepts the second half of that and not the first. It will lend on a contract, before your first paycheck, with your student loans set aside. It also wants to see money in the bank.

Every figure below comes from Bank of America’s Doctor Loan page and its three footnotes, read on September 20, 2026, with one cross-check against the Doctor Loan section of the bank’s page for real estate professionals. The page is short. Most of what matters is in footnote 1.

Bank of America Doctor Loan at a glance

Program
Bank of America’s published figure
Bank of America Doctor Loan
Still offered
Bank of America’s published figure
Yes, as of September 20, 2026
Eligible degrees
Bank of America’s published figure
MD, DO, DDS, DMD, OD, DPM, DVM
In training
Bank of America’s published figure
Residents and fellows; medical students starting a salaried position within 90 days
Not eligible
Bank of America’s published figure
Those employed in research or as professors
3% down
Bank of America’s published figure
Mortgages up to $850,000
5% down
Bank of America’s published figure
Up to $1M
10% down
Bank of America’s published figure
Up to $1.5M
15% down
Bank of America’s published figure
Up to $2M (program maximum)
0% down
Bank of America’s published figure
Not offered
Reserves
Bank of America’s published figure
4–6 months of PITIA, depending on loan amount
Credit
Bank of America’s published figure
“Excellent credit”; no score published
Account requirement
Bank of America’s published figure
BofA checking or savings before closing (Merrill or Private Bank also counts)
Closing before a start date
Bank of America’s published figure
Up to 90 days, salaried positions only, with extra reserves
Student loans
Bank of America’s published figure
Can often be excluded; proof of deferment required
Years-out limit
Bank of America’s published figure
None published
Mortgage insurance, rate types, states
Bank of America’s published figure
Not stated; see below

Source: Bank of America’s Doctor Loan page and footnotes 1–3, read September 20, 2026. Linked at the end of this review.

Who qualifies

Footnote 1 sorts applicants into three groups.

  • 1.Actively practicing doctors with an MD, DO, DDS, DMD, OD, DPM, or DVM. Optometrists and veterinarians are both on the list, which only Flagstar matches among the lenders we have reviewed.
  • 2.Residents and fellows who are currently employed in their programs.
  • 3.Medical students and doctors about to start employment, residency, or fellowship within 90 days of closing. This group is limited to salaried employees.

The third group is the notable one. No other lender in this series uses the words “medical students.” Others will close on a residency contract, but Bank of America says outright that a fourth-year who matched in March can apply. The “salaried employees only” condition matters for attendings: a new partner-track physician paid on production, or an independent contractor on a 1099, doesn’t fit this group and would need to be already practicing to qualify.

One exclusion is explicit: “Those employed in research or as professor are not eligible.” A physician-scientist with a lab and a faculty title should read that carefully and ask how a split clinical and academic appointment is treated. KeyBank names researchers and clinical professors as eligible.

There is no limit on years since training. BMO closes at ten years, Truist restricts at ten and fifteen, and TD and Flagstar stop at ten. A physician twenty years into practice is, on the published terms, as eligible here as a new attending.

Down payment tiers and loan limits

3%
Maximum mortgage
$850,000
Cash down at the maximum
$26,300 on an $876,300 home
5%
Maximum mortgage
$1M
Cash down at the maximum
$52,600 on a $1,052,600 home
10%
Maximum mortgage
$1.5M
Cash down at the maximum
$166,700 on a $1,666,700 home
15%
Maximum mortgage
$2M
Cash down at the maximum
$352,900 on a $2,352,900 home

Bank of America publishes no 0%-down tier. The minimum down payment is 3%.

Compare that with the field. Truist, BMO, and TD ask 0% to $1 million, 5% to $1.5 million, and about 10% to $2 million. At every loan size Bank of America asks for more: 3% where they ask nothing, 10% where they ask 5%, 15% where they ask 10%.

The Honest Truth:

A 3% down conventional loan exists for ordinary borrowers, up to the conforming loan limit. What a physician program adds is a higher loan limit at that down payment, underwriting on a future contract, and student loans left out of the ratio. Bank of America’s Doctor Loan delivers those three things. If what you need is to buy with no money down, this isn’t the program, and five other lenders on this site publish one that is.

The cash you actually need

The down payment is the smaller number. Footnote 1 requires PITIA reserves of 4 to 6 months, depending on loan amount. PITIA is your full housing payment: principal, interest, taxes, insurance, and any association dues. Reserves aren’t spent; they have to be in your accounts and verified when you close.

Down payment (3%)
Approximate amount
$21,000
Reserves: 4–6 months at about $5,500 PITIA
Approximate amount
$22,000 – $33,000
Closing costs (roughly 2–3%)
Approximate amount
$14,000 – $21,000
Cash to show at closing
Approximate amount
$57,000 – $75,000

Illustration only. Payment assumes a $679,000 loan near 7% plus about $1,000 a month in taxes and insurance; your figures will differ. Reserve months from Bank of America’s footnote 1.

A PGY-1 rarely has that. An attending two years in often does, and for that borrower the reserve rule costs nothing, because the money stays theirs. It is worth asking which accounts count. Lenders commonly accept retirement balances toward reserves at a discount, and Bank of America’s page doesn’t say.

One inconsistency to flag: the Doctor Loan page says 4 to 6 months, while the bank’s page for real estate professionals describes the same program with 4 to 12 months. Ask which applies at your loan amount.

Closing before you start

Residents and fellows with a job lined up can close up to 90 days before they start. That matches Huntington and BMO. Footnote 2 adds a condition the other two don’t publish: if your employment begins after closing, you must show, on top of the standard reserves, enough verified cash to cover all your debt obligations from closing until your start date, up to 90 more days.

In practice, a graduating student closing on May 1 for a July 1 start needs the 4 to 6 months of reserves and another two months of every payment they owe: the new mortgage, car, credit cards, and any student loan not in deferment. It is a sensible rule, since you will have no paycheck during those weeks. It also raises the bar again for the borrowers least likely to have savings.

Student loans

The page says: “We can often exclude your student debt from your total debt when you apply for a mortgage.” Footnote 3 adds that additional documentation is required to evidence that payments are deferred.

Read together, the exclusion is for deferred loans, and “often” means it is decided case by case. A resident in deferment or forbearance is the clear fit. A resident paying $300 a month on an income-driven plan isn’t in deferment, and the page doesn’t say how that payment is treated. Truist publishes both cases; Bank of America publishes one. Bring a servicer letter showing the deferment end date, and if you are on an income-driven plan, ask directly whether the actual payment is used.

For how this compares with conventional, FHA, and VA rules, see how student loans affect a physician mortgage.

What Bank of America doesn’t publish, and what to ask

  • Mortgage insurance. Every other program we have reviewed says “no PMI” near the top of the page. This one doesn’t mention it. Ask: “Is there mortgage insurance at 3%, 5%, and 10% down? Show me on the loan estimate.”
  • Fixed or adjustable. Not stated for the Doctor Loan. Ask: “Is a 30-year fixed available, and which ARM terms?”
  • What “excellent credit” means. Ask for the minimum score at your tier.
  • DTI ceiling and income-driven payments. Ask: “What is the maximum DTI, and is my IDR payment counted at its actual amount?”
  • Reserve months and eligible accounts. Ask: “How many months at my loan amount, and do retirement accounts count?”
  • States and property types. Neither is listed. Bank of America lends nationally, but the page doesn’t say the Doctor Loan does. Ask about your state, and about condos if you are buying one.
  • Relationship pricing. The Doctor Loan page doesn’t mention a discount. If you hold assets at Bank of America or Merrill, ask whether Preferred Rewards pricing applies to this product.

Rates

Bank of America posts daily rates for its standard mortgages and none for the Doctor Loan, which is priced per borrower. Freddie Mac’s national average for a 30-year fixed conventional mortgage is 6.95% for the week of September 17, 2026. Physician programs typically quote 0.125 to 0.5 points above that benchmark. A program that requires a down payment, reserves, and excellent credit is taking less risk than a 0%-down program, and the quote should reflect it. If Bank of America’s rate isn’t at or below the 0%-down lenders’, the stricter terms aren’t buying you anything.

Where our benchmark comes from: where our rates come from. Current numbers and a ten-year chart: mortgage rates.

Run Bank of America’s 3% tier against a conventional loan

The calculator starts from this week’s Freddie Mac average with the physician loan set to 3% down, Bank of America’s lowest tier. Move the physician down payment to 0% to see what a Truist or BMO quote would look like at the same price, or to 5%, 10%, or 15% for the higher tiers. The physician side assumes no mortgage insurance, which Bank of America hasn’t confirmed on its page; if your loan estimate includes it, the monthly figure will be higher.

Interactive Calculator

Physician Mortgage vs Conventional

$750,000
$250K$2.5M
%
%

Physician loans often have slightly higher rates.

Conventional Terms

20%

Physician Loan Terms

3%

Most programs offer 0% to $1M, then 5% or 10% at higher loan amounts.

Physician Choice

Physician Loan (3% down)

Upfront Cash Needed
$22,500$150,000

You save $127,500 upfront

Monthly Payment (P&I Only)
$4,938/mo

Conventional Loan (20% down)

Upfront Cash Needed
$150,000
Monthly Payment (P&I + PMI)
$3,972/mo

While the Physician Loan rate is slightly higher, it allows you to keep $127,500 in your pocket today. This is often worth the extra monthly cost ($966/mo) for residents and new attendings.

Strengths and drawbacks

Strengths

  • Medical students named as eligible, with a 90-day window before a salaried start.
  • No published limit on years since training.
  • Optometrists, podiatrists, and veterinarians on the list with physicians and dentists.
  • Deferred student loans can often be excluded from total debt.
  • The reserve and start-date rules are published, so you know the bar before you apply.

Drawbacks

  • No 0% down, and a higher down payment than competitors at every loan size.
  • 4 to 6 months of reserves, more if you close before starting, and “excellent credit.”
  • The page doesn’t say whether mortgage insurance is waived.
  • A Bank of America account is required; researchers and professors are excluded.
  • Rate types, DTI ceiling, states, and property types are unpublished.

Verdict: 4.0 / 5. This is a physician loan for physicians who already have money. For an established attending with savings, strong credit, and accounts at Bank of America or Merrill, it is a reasonable quote with no years-out clock, and the reserve rule costs nothing. For the resident or new graduate these programs were invented for, it asks for more cash than any other lender we have reviewed, and it leaves the mortgage-insurance question unanswered. It earns its score for naming medical students and for publishing its reserve rules plainly.

Who it’s for, and who should keep looking

  • Attendings more than ten years out who are shut out of BMO, TD, Flagstar, and Truist’s low-down tiers: yes. Quote it against Huntington and KeyBank.
  • Existing Bank of America, Merrill, or Private Bank clients with savings: yes, and ask about relationship pricing.
  • Optometrists and veterinarians: yes, alongside Flagstar (both) and Huntington (DVM).
  • Fourth-year students with family help or savings who want to close before July: possible, and the only program that names you. Count the reserves first.
  • Residents and new attendings with little saved: not here. Truist, BMO, and Huntington publish 0% down to $1 million.
  • Physician-scientists and faculty: excluded if employed in research or as a professor. Quote KeyBank.
  • 1099 and production-only physicians who haven’t started yet: the early-close group is salaried employees only.
  • NPs, PAs, CRNAs, and pharmacists: not listed. Flagstar names all four.

How to apply, and what to have ready

  • 1.Add up your cash first. Down payment, 4 to 6 months of the full payment, closing costs, and, if you haven’t started work, every debt payment until you do. If the total isn’t there, quote a 0%-down lender instead.
  • 2.Call 866.466.0979 (Monday to Friday 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. ET, Saturday 8 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. ET) and ask for the Doctor Loan by name. Put the mortgage-insurance and fixed-rate questions first.
  • 3.Open the checking or savings account before closing if you don’t have one. A Merrill or Private Bank account only counts if it existed before you applied.
  • 4.Gather the file: license or training verification, a signed contract showing salary and start date, statements for every account you are using for reserves, and a servicer letter showing your student loans are deferred and until when.
  • 5.Get a 0%-down quote the same week and compare the rate, the mortgage-insurance line, and the cash required at closing side by side.

Deciding whether a physician loan is right at all: read the physician mortgage guide.

Alternatives to quote alongside Bank of America

  • Truist: 0% down to $1M, student-loan treatment published for both deferred and income-driven loans, and a rate discount for balances held at the bank. 0% and 5% tiers end ten years after training.
  • BMO: 0% down to $1M with fixed or adjustable rates and the same 90-day window, in every state but New York. Closed after ten years in practice.
  • Huntington Bank: 0% down to $1M, $2.5M overall, a 50% DTI ceiling in writing, and no years-out limit. Only ARM terms published.
  • KeyBank: a $3.5M ceiling, no years-out limit, and researchers and clinical professors named as eligible.
  • TD Bank: 0% down to $1M with a fixed rate in writing, on the East Coast, with a TD checking account.
  • Flagstar Bank: 0% down to $1M with no excluded state, and NPs, PAs, CRNAs, pharmacists, and optometrists eligible. ARM only, to $1.5M.

All seven programs are compared side by side on the lender comparison.

Frequently asked questions

Does Bank of America still offer a doctor loan in 2026?

Yes. The Doctor Loan was live on bankofamerica.com when we checked on September 20, 2026: 3% down on mortgages up to $850,000, 5% up to $1,000,000, 10% up to $1,500,000, and 15% up to $2,000,000.

Does Bank of America offer 0% down for doctors?

No. The lowest published down payment on the Doctor Loan is 3%, on mortgages up to $850,000. Truist, BMO, TD Bank, Huntington, and Flagstar all publish a 0%-down tier to $1,000,000.

Who qualifies for the Bank of America Doctor Loan?

Actively practicing doctors with an MD, DO, DDS, DMD, OD, DPM, or DVM; medical residents and fellows currently employed in training; and, for salaried employees only, medical students and doctors who will start employment, residency, or fellowship within 90 days of closing. People employed in research or as professors are not eligible.

Can a fourth-year medical student get the Bank of America Doctor Loan?

Yes, if you will start a salaried residency within 90 days of closing. Bank of America is the only lender we have reviewed that names medical students. You will need the standard reserves plus enough verified cash to cover all your debt payments between closing and your start date.

How much do I need in reserves?

Bank of America’s Doctor Loan page says 4 to 6 months of PITIA (principal, interest, taxes, insurance, and assessments), depending on loan amount. Its page for real estate professionals says 4 to 12 months. On a payment of $5,500 a month, 4 to 6 months is $22,000 to $33,000, in addition to the down payment and closing costs.

Do I need a Bank of America account?

Yes. You must have, or open before closing, a Bank of America checking or savings account. An existing Merrill or Bank of America Private Bank account also satisfies the requirement.

How does Bank of America treat student loans?

The page says student debt can often be excluded from your total debt, and the footnote requires documentation that payments are deferred. It doesn’t mention income-driven repayment plans, and it doesn’t publish a maximum debt-to-income ratio.

Is there mortgage insurance on the Bank of America Doctor Loan?

The Doctor Loan page doesn’t say. Most physician programs waive mortgage insurance and say so prominently; Bank of America’s page is silent on it. Ask for it in writing on your loan estimate.

Sources

Read September 20, 2026. Terms quoted are from the Doctor Loan page and footnotes 1 through 3; the second source is cited only for the differing reserve range. Where this review says “not published” or “not stated,” the Doctor Loan page contains no statement on the point.

The information on this page is for educational purposes and is not financial or lending advice. Program terms are Bank of America’s published terms as of September 20, 2026 and can change without notice; Bank of America’s current disclosures govern any loan. Rates are not quoted because the Doctor Loan is priced individually. MedMoneyGuide has no affiliate or referral arrangement with Bank of America; this review is not sponsored. See our advertising disclosure and where our rates come from.

Joshua Dunigan, DO

Editorial Credibility

Joshua Dunigan, DO | Family Medicine Physician & Founder

I founded MedMoneyGuide to provide physicians with unbiased, specialty-specific financial guidance. My goal is to add transparency and credibility to your financial journey.