How Much Does Tail Coverage Cost? What Carriers Publish, What Physicians Pay in Eight Markets, and When the Bill Is Zero
Tail coverage is priced as a multiple of your last annual malpractice premium, so the only way to estimate it is to know that premium. This page puts the carriers’ own pricing statements next to the AMA’s published premiums for eight markets and does the arithmetic, then covers what moves the number and when it drops to zero.

On This Page
In this guide
Key takeaways
- •Tail is a multiple of your final annual claims-made premium. Carriers describe it as one year’s premium to a multiple of it; brokers plan on 150% to 300% for an unlimited tail.
- •The premium is the whole game. AMA-reported 2025 premiums run from $8,274 for an internist in Los Angeles to $243,988 for an OB/GYN or general surgeon in Miami-Dade, so the same multiple produces tails of $8,000 or $700,000.
- •It is a lump sum, due when the policy ends. Some carriers allow two-year payment or outside financing.
- •It is free at death, disability, and vested retirement, typically after five to ten years with one carrier. Changing jobs never qualifies.
Most articles about tail coverage give a specialty table with no source. This one starts from two things that are published: what the carriers say about how they price tail, and what physicians in eight markets pay for the underlying policy, as reported by the American Medical Association from the Medical Liability Monitor rate survey. The estimates below are arithmetic on those two inputs, and the page says so where it is arithmetic. For what tail is and who should pay for it, read the companion tail coverage guide.
How tail is priced
A claims-made policy covers incidents that both happen and are reported while it is in force. When it ends, tail, formally an extended reporting endorsement, keeps the reporting window open for incidents that happened before the end date. The carrier prices that window as a multiple of the premium you were paying when the policy ended.
- •The Doctors Company: tail costs “could range from a full year’s annual premium to a multiple of your annual premium,” and the extension “may be indefinite, or it may be for a predetermined term.”
- •MedPro Group: tail for a claims-made policy “can be a significant expense, sometimes twice the cost of your annual premium,” and occurrence coverage, which needs no tail, can be “less expensive overall once the tail coverage from a Claims-made policy is factored in.”
- •Brokers who quote tail (Cunningham Group, DHIA) describe a one-year reporting period at roughly 100% of the expiring premium and an unlimited tail at 200% to 300%.
Two words in those statements matter. “Annual premium” means the premium at the end, not the first-year rate. Claims-made pricing is stepped: year one is cheap because there is little prior exposure to report, and the rate climbs each year to a mature level around year five. The tail is priced off the mature rate. “Multiple” means the number depends on how long the reporting window stays open; an unlimited tail costs more than a one- or three-year one, and a claim that arrives after a limited tail expires is uncovered.
The premiums it’s based on
The AMA’s April 2026 Policy Research Perspectives report reproduces manual premiums from the Medical Liability Monitor’s annual rate survey for three specialties in eight markets, for $1 million/$3 million limits, from one insurer per market with continuous data. These are the 2025 figures.
| Market | Internal medicine | General surgery | OB/GYN |
|---|---|---|---|
| California (Los Angeles, Orange) | $8,274 | $41,775 | $49,804 |
| Connecticut | $22,467 | $107,794 | $159,537 |
| District of Columbia | $24,073 | $73,945 | $134,901 |
| Florida (Miami-Dade) | $59,736 | $243,988 | $243,988 |
| Illinois (Cook, Madison, St. Clair) | $47,787 | $139,284 | $207,907 |
| New Jersey | $18,410 | $63,366 | $94,640 |
| New York (Nassau, Suffolk) | $34,178 | $155,509 | $176,358 |
| Pennsylvania (Philadelphia) | $26,542 | $102,187 | $135,974 |
- Internal medicine
- $8,274
- General surgery
- $41,775
- OB/GYN
- $49,804
- Internal medicine
- $22,467
- General surgery
- $107,794
- OB/GYN
- $159,537
- Internal medicine
- $24,073
- General surgery
- $73,945
- OB/GYN
- $134,901
- Internal medicine
- $59,736
- General surgery
- $243,988
- OB/GYN
- $243,988
- Internal medicine
- $47,787
- General surgery
- $139,284
- OB/GYN
- $207,907
- Internal medicine
- $18,410
- General surgery
- $63,366
- OB/GYN
- $94,640
- Internal medicine
- $34,178
- General surgery
- $155,509
- OB/GYN
- $176,358
- Internal medicine
- $26,542
- General surgery
- $102,187
- OB/GYN
- $135,974
Manual premiums for 2025, $1M/$3M claims-made, one insurer per market. Connecticut is $1M/$4M; Pennsylvania includes the Patient Compensation Fund surcharge. Source: AMA Policy Research Perspectives, April 2026, Exhibit 4, from Medical Liability Monitor rate surveys.
The spread is the point. A general surgeon in Miami-Dade pays about six times what one in Los Angeles pays, and an OB/GYN in Illinois pays about four times an OB/GYN in California, where a cap on non-economic damages holds premiums down. The AMA also reports that nearly 40% of premiums it tracked rose in 2025, the seventh straight year of increases, with Pennsylvania, Kentucky, Florida, Illinois, and New York seeing large jumps two years running. A tail bought in 2027 will be priced on a higher premium than the table shows.
What tail costs, by market
Applying the carriers’ range, one to three times the annual premium, to the 2025 figures gives the following. The low end is a one-year reporting window at a full year’s premium; the high end is an unlimited tail at three times. Most physicians buying an unlimited tail should expect the upper half of each range.
| Market | Internal medicine | General surgery | OB/GYN |
|---|---|---|---|
| California (Los Angeles, Orange) | $8,274 – $24,822 | $41,775 – $125,325 | $49,804 – $149,412 |
| Connecticut | $22,467 – $67,401 | $107,794 – $323,382 | $159,537 – $478,611 |
| District of Columbia | $24,073 – $72,219 | $73,945 – $221,835 | $134,901 – $404,703 |
| Florida (Miami-Dade) | $59,736 – $179,208 | $243,988 – $731,964 | $243,988 – $731,964 |
| Illinois (Cook, Madison, St. Clair) | $47,787 – $143,361 | $139,284 – $417,852 | $207,907 – $623,721 |
| New Jersey | $18,410 – $55,230 | $63,366 – $190,098 | $94,640 – $283,920 |
| New York (Nassau, Suffolk) | $34,178 – $102,534 | $155,509 – $466,527 | $176,358 – $529,074 |
| Pennsylvania (Philadelphia) | $26,542 – $79,626 | $102,187 – $306,561 | $135,974 – $407,922 |
- Internal medicine
- $8,274 – $24,822
- General surgery
- $41,775 – $125,325
- OB/GYN
- $49,804 – $149,412
- Internal medicine
- $22,467 – $67,401
- General surgery
- $107,794 – $323,382
- OB/GYN
- $159,537 – $478,611
- Internal medicine
- $24,073 – $72,219
- General surgery
- $73,945 – $221,835
- OB/GYN
- $134,901 – $404,703
- Internal medicine
- $59,736 – $179,208
- General surgery
- $243,988 – $731,964
- OB/GYN
- $243,988 – $731,964
- Internal medicine
- $47,787 – $143,361
- General surgery
- $139,284 – $417,852
- OB/GYN
- $207,907 – $623,721
- Internal medicine
- $18,410 – $55,230
- General surgery
- $63,366 – $190,098
- OB/GYN
- $94,640 – $283,920
- Internal medicine
- $34,178 – $102,534
- General surgery
- $155,509 – $466,527
- OB/GYN
- $176,358 – $529,074
- Internal medicine
- $26,542 – $79,626
- General surgery
- $102,187 – $306,561
- OB/GYN
- $135,974 – $407,922
Our arithmetic: 1x to 3x the AMA-reported premium above. Not a quote. Your premium differs by insurer, limits, claims history, years insured, and employer group rating.
The Honest Truth:
These are estimates built on one insurer’s manual rates in eight markets. They are useful for one purpose: deciding whether the tail clause in your contract is a $15,000 problem or a $400,000 problem before you sign. For the actual number, ask the carrier for a written tail quote, which it will produce for any policy it holds.
What moves the price
- •Length of the reporting window. One year costs about a year’s premium; unlimited costs two to three times. Statutes of limitations for malpractice run two to three years in most states, longer for minors and for discovery of injury, so a short tail is a bet on the calendar.
- •Years on the policy. A physician leaving in year two is charged off a premium that hasn’t matured, so the tail is smaller in dollars than one bought in year six, even at the same multiple.
- •Limits. The AMA figures are for $1M/$3M. A $2M/$6M policy, common in some hospital contracts, carries a higher premium and a proportionally higher tail.
- •Specialty class. Internal medicine, general surgery, and OB/GYN bracket the market. Psychiatry and pediatrics price below internal medicine; neurosurgery prices with or above OB/GYN.
- •State and county. Same specialty, same carrier, and Miami-Dade costs six times Los Angeles. Pennsylvania adds a Patient Compensation Fund surcharge that is part of the premium the tail is computed on.
- •Claims history. Open claims or prior payouts raise the premium and can raise the multiple; a carrier can also decline a tail to a physician it is non-renewing.
- •Employer group rating. A health system’s group policy is often rated below the manual premium, which lowers the tail if the contract prices it off the actual premium rather than a manual rate.
When it’s free
Every major carrier waives the tail in some circumstances. The rules differ, and the differences are worth real money near retirement.
| Carrier | Free tail at retirement | Death and disability | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| ISMIE | After 10 consecutive years insured, at any age; or at age 55+ after 5 consecutive years | Not stated on the FAQ page | ISMIE tail coverage FAQ |
| ProAssurance | At full retirement after a minimum of 5 years continuously covered on a claims-made basis | Automatic | ProAssurance tail coverage page |
| The Doctors Company | After remaining insured “for a certain number of years” and completely retiring from practice (a vesting period) | Not stated in the article | The Doctors Company, October 2025 |
| MedPro Group | Only at full retirement, and “you often need to be a certain age” | Free upon death or disablement | MedPro, occurrence vs. claims-made |
- Free tail at retirement
- After 10 consecutive years insured, at any age; or at age 55+ after 5 consecutive years
- Death and disability
- Not stated on the FAQ page
- Source
- ISMIE tail coverage FAQ
- Free tail at retirement
- At full retirement after a minimum of 5 years continuously covered on a claims-made basis
- Death and disability
- Automatic
- Source
- ProAssurance tail coverage page
- Free tail at retirement
- After remaining insured “for a certain number of years” and completely retiring from practice (a vesting period)
- Death and disability
- Not stated in the article
- Source
- The Doctors Company, October 2025
- Free tail at retirement
- Only at full retirement, and “you often need to be a certain age”
- Death and disability
- Free upon death or disablement
- Source
- MedPro, occurrence vs. claims-made
Each carrier’s own published page, read September 21, 2026. Policy language governs; ask for the retirement-tail provision in writing.
The common thread: free tail rewards staying with one carrier and leaving medicine entirely. A physician who switches carriers every renewal to save a few hundred dollars can forfeit a retirement tail worth a year or two of premium. A physician who retires at 62 after four years with a carrier that requires five gets nothing. Check the vesting clock before you change carriers or set a retirement date.
Paying for it
Tail is due when the policy ends, and it is usually a lump sum. ISMIE says tail “is generally not offered with a carrier-administered payment plan,” though outside premium financing is typically available. The Doctors Company says its tail “can be spread over two years without interest.” Ask your carrier which applies before you give notice, because the check is often due within 30 to 60 days of the policy ending.
Who writes the check is a contract question, and it is the one to settle before you sign. Employer pays in all cases, employer pays if it terminates you without cause, a vesting schedule that shifts the cost to the employer over years, or physician pays: those are the four common outcomes, and the difference between the first and the last is the whole table above. Our guide to physician contract red flags has the clause language, and contract review services will flag it for a few hundred dollars.
Avoiding the bill
- •Nose coverage. If the next job is also claims-made, the new carrier can extend its retroactive date back to cover your prior acts. That folds the old exposure into the new premium instead of a lump sum. It depends on the new carrier’s willingness and your claims history, and it does nothing for a physician who is retiring. ISMIE warns that leaving without tail and without full prior-acts coverage is “going bare.”
- •An occurrence policy. Covers any incident that happened while the policy was in force, whenever it is reported, so there is no tail. MedPro’s own comparison says occurrence is more expensive at first and often cheaper overall. Not every carrier offers it in every state. The trade-off is in claims-made vs. occurrence.
- •Staying long enough to vest. If you are within a few years of a carrier’s free-tail threshold, the value of waiting can exceed a year’s salary difference.
Getting a real quote
- 1.Get your current declarations page. It shows the carrier, limits, retroactive date, and the annual premium. If your employer holds the policy, HR or the practice administrator has it, and you are entitled to see it.
- 2.Ask the carrier for a written tail quote for an unlimited reporting period and, separately, for one and three years. Carriers quote tail on request for any in-force policy.
- 3.Ask the prospective new employer’s carrier whether it will write prior-acts coverage back to your retroactive date, and at what premium.
- 4.Put the number in the negotiation. A tail quote turns “physician is responsible for tail” from an abstraction into a dollar figure the employer can be asked to share.
The carriers themselves are compared in our malpractice insurance review, and surgical premiums specifically in what surgeons pay for malpractice insurance.
Frequently asked questions
How much does tail coverage cost for a physician?
Carriers price tail as a multiple of your final annual claims-made premium. The Doctors Company says the cost “could range from a full year’s annual premium to a multiple of your annual premium,” and MedPro says it is “sometimes twice the cost of your annual premium.” Brokers who quote tail commonly plan on 150% to 300% of the mature premium for an unlimited tail. On the 2025 premiums the AMA reports, that is roughly $8,000 to $25,000 for an internist in Los Angeles and $244,000 to $732,000 for an OB/GYN or general surgeon in Miami-Dade.
Is tail coverage a one-time payment?
Yes. Tail, formally an extended reporting endorsement, is bought once when the claims-made policy ends and is usually due as a lump sum. ISMIE says it is “generally not offered with a carrier-administered payment plan” and that outside premium financing is typically available. The Doctors Company says its tail can be spread over two years without interest.
When is tail coverage free?
At death and permanent disability with most major carriers, and at full retirement after a vesting period. ISMIE gives free retirement tail after 10 consecutive years insured at any age, or after 5 consecutive years at age 55 or older. ProAssurance gives it at full retirement after a minimum of five years continuously insured on a claims-made basis. The Doctors Company and MedPro tie it to remaining insured for a set number of years and fully retiring. Leaving one job for another does not qualify.
Why is tail so much more than my premium?
Claims-made premiums are stepped: the first-year rate is low because there is almost no prior exposure to report against, and the premium rises each year until it reaches the mature rate around year five. The tail has to cover every incident from all of those years, reported at any point in the future, so it is priced off the mature rate and multiplied for the open-ended reporting window.
How much does tail coverage cost for a physician assistant or nurse practitioner?
The same multiple applies, but the underlying premium is much lower because PA and NP liability premiums are a fraction of a physician’s. The AMA and Medical Liability Monitor data on this page cover physicians only; ask the carrier for a written tail quote, which any carrier will produce for an existing policy.
Can I avoid buying tail coverage?
Three ways. Negotiate for the employer to pay it, which is common when the employer terminates without cause. Move to a new claims-made carrier that offers prior-acts (nose) coverage, which rolls the old exposure into the new policy. Or hold an occurrence policy, which has no tail at all. What you cannot safely do is leave a claims-made policy with neither tail nor nose; ISMIE calls that “going bare.”
Sources
- •AMA Policy Research Perspectives: For the seventh consecutive year, medical liability premiums continue to rise (April 2026), Exhibit 4
- •The Doctors Company: Extended Reporting Period, or Tail, Coverage: Common and Costly Misconceptions (October 2025)
- •MedPro Group: Occurrence vs. Claims-made Coverage
- •ISMIE: What is tail coverage and is it right for me?
- •ProAssurance: Tail Coverage
- •Cunningham Group: Understanding the Extended Reporting Period and DHIA: Extended Reporting Period Coverage (broker pricing ranges)
Carrier pages read September 21, 2026. Premium figures are 2025 manual rates as published by the AMA; the tail estimates are our multiplication of those figures and are not quotes.
Publisher’s note: This page is for educational purposes and is not insurance or legal advice. Tail pricing is set by each carrier under its policy terms and state filings; the figures here are published manual premiums and carrier statements, not quotes. MedMoneyGuide has no affiliate or referral arrangement with any malpractice carrier or broker named on this page. See our advertising disclosure.

Editorial Credibility
Joshua Dunigan, DO | Family Medicine Physician & Founder
I founded MedMoneyGuide to provide physicians with unbiased, specialty-specific financial guidance. My goal is to add transparency and credibility to your financial journey.