Does SoFi Offer a Physician Mortgage? No, and Here Is What SoFi Sells Instead, and Who Does
A short answer to a question physicians keep searching. SoFi says it in one sentence on its own site; here is that sentence, what SoFi does sell to homebuyers and to doctors, and where to go for an actual physician mortgage.
Key takeaways
- •SoFi does not offer a physician mortgage. Its own site says so.
- •What it offers is a standard mortgage: 3% down for first-time buyers, 5% for everyone else, with mortgage insurance below 20% down, in every state except purchases in New York.
- •SoFi’s physician products are student-loan refinances, including $100-a-month payments during residency, which cost you PSLF eligibility on any federal loans you refinance.
- •Five lenders publish 0%-down physician programs to $1 million with no mortgage insurance, and two more publish a program without a 0% tier; all seven are listed below.
The answer
SoFi publishes an article explaining physician mortgage loans, and it opens with a disclosure: “SoFi does not offer physician mortgages, but it does offer home mortgage loans with a low down payment for first-time homebuyers.” That is the whole answer. The search results that pair “SoFi” with “physician mortgage” are pointing at that explainer, not at a product.
It is an easy thing to get wrong. SoFi is one of the best-known lenders among residents because of its student loan refinancing, it advertises to physicians, and it has a mortgage business. The three facts don’t add up to a doctor loan.
What SoFi’s mortgage is
From SoFi’s home loans page, read September 21, 2026:
- •Down payment: “As little as 3% down payments are for qualifying first-time homebuyers only. 5% minimum applies to other borrowers.”
- •Products: purchase, rate-and-term and cash-out refinance, jumbo, FHA, and VA loans.
- •Where: “all states except purchase only for New York.”
- •Fees: a standard $1,495 origination fee, with $500 off for SoFi members and another $500 off for SoFi Plus subscribers or members with eligible direct deposit or $5,000 or more on deposit.
- •Not on the page: any physician or professional program, any waiver of mortgage insurance, and any treatment of student loans or a future employment contract.
SoFi vs. a physician loan
A physician mortgage does three things a conventional loan doesn’t: it lends 100% up to a limit, it waives private mortgage insurance below 20% down, and it underwrites on a signed contract with student loans set aside. SoFi’s mortgage does none of those. What that means for a resident or new attending:
| On a $600,000 home | SoFi conventional (5% down) | Physician loan (0% down) |
|---|---|---|
| Cash at closing for the down payment | $30,000 | $0 |
| Mortgage insurance | Yes, until you reach 20% equity | None |
| Student loans in the debt ratio | Counted under conventional rules | Often excluded if deferred, or counted at the income-driven payment |
| Close on a contract before you start | Not addressed by SoFi | Published by Huntington, BMO, and Bank of America (90 days) |
| Rate | Priced individually | Priced individually, typically a fraction of a point above conventional |
- SoFi conventional (5% down)
- $30,000
- Physician loan (0% down)
- $0
- SoFi conventional (5% down)
- Yes, until you reach 20% equity
- Physician loan (0% down)
- None
- SoFi conventional (5% down)
- Counted under conventional rules
- Physician loan (0% down)
- Often excluded if deferred, or counted at the income-driven payment
- SoFi conventional (5% down)
- Not addressed by SoFi
- Physician loan (0% down)
- Published by Huntington, BMO, and Bank of America (90 days)
- SoFi conventional (5% down)
- Priced individually
- Physician loan (0% down)
- Priced individually, typically a fraction of a point above conventional
Physician-loan terms from the lender pages linked below. SoFi terms from its home loans page. Rates are not quoted because both are priced per borrower.
Where SoFi can win is the case a physician loan isn’t built for: a physician with 20% to put down, no student loans in the ratio, and a settled employment history. At that point you are shopping conventional rates, and SoFi is one of many lenders to quote. The full comparison is in physician mortgage vs. conventional.
What SoFi does offer doctors
Student loan refinancing, in two forms. The medical resident refinance is for MD, DO, DDS, and DMD residents and fellows who are in an accredited program or starting within 12 months, within seven years of completing training, with at least $5,000 in loans. SoFi’s page says you “pay just $100/month during residency, for up to seven years.” The medical professional refinance is the standard product for attendings.
Two cautions before a resident signs. First, $100 a month doesn’t cover the interest on a typical balance: at 6% on $250,000 the interest alone is about $1,250 a month, so the balance grows through residency. Second, and larger, refinancing federal loans ends eligibility for Public Service Loan Forgiveness and income-driven repayment on those loans, a point SoFi states in its own disclosures. For a resident at a nonprofit or academic hospital, that can be a six-figure mistake. Run it through PSLF vs. refinancing first, and see our refinancing lender review for how SoFi compares to the others.
Who does offer a physician mortgage
These lenders publish a physician program on their own sites. The figures are each lender’s published first tier, verified on the dates in the reviews.
| Lender | Lowest down payment | Up to | Mortgage insurance | Review |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Huntington Bank | 0% | $1M | None | Read the Huntington Bank review |
| TD Bank | 0% | $1M | None | Read the TD Bank review |
| KeyBank | Not published | $3.5M ceiling | None | Read the KeyBank review |
| Truist | 0% | $1M | None | Read the Truist review |
| BMO | 0% | $1M | None | Read the BMO review |
| Flagstar Bank | 0% | $1M | None | Read the Flagstar Bank review |
| Bank of America | 3% | $850,000 | Not stated | Read the Bank of America review |
- Lowest down payment
- 0%
- Up to
- $1M
- Mortgage insurance
- None
- Lowest down payment
- 0%
- Up to
- $1M
- Mortgage insurance
- None
- Review
- Read the TD Bank review
- Lowest down payment
- Not published
- Up to
- $3.5M ceiling
- Mortgage insurance
- None
- Review
- Read the KeyBank review
- Lowest down payment
- 0%
- Up to
- $1M
- Mortgage insurance
- None
- Review
- Read the Truist review
- Lowest down payment
- 0%
- Up to
- $1M
- Mortgage insurance
- None
- Review
- Read the BMO review
- Lowest down payment
- 0%
- Up to
- $1M
- Mortgage insurance
- None
- Lowest down payment
- 3%
- Up to
- $850,000
- Mortgage insurance
- Not stated
5 of the 7 publish 0% down to $1 million. Each lender's page, verified on the date shown in its review.
All of them are compared side by side, with what each one leaves unpublished, in the physician mortgage lender comparison. If you are deciding whether a physician loan is the right tool at all, start with the physician mortgage guide.
Frequently asked questions
Does SoFi offer a physician mortgage loan?
What is the minimum down payment on a SoFi mortgage?
Does SoFi lend in every state?
What does SoFi offer physicians, then?
Which lenders do offer a physician mortgage?
Sources
- •SoFi: Understanding Physician Mortgage Loans
- •SoFi: Home Loans
- •SoFi: Medical Resident Refinancing
- •SoFi support: Eligibility Requirements for Medical & Dental Resident Refinance Loans
SoFi pages read September 21, 2026. Physician-lender terms are from each lender’s program page, on the date shown in its review.
Publisher’s note: This page is for educational purposes and is not financial or lending advice. Terms are each company’s published terms as of the dates shown and change without notice. MedMoneyGuide has no affiliate or referral arrangement with SoFi or with any mortgage lender named here. See our advertising disclosure.

About the Author
Joshua Dunigan, DO | Family Medicine Resident & Founder
I'm a family medicine resident physician at Broadlawns Medical Center in Des Moines, Iowa (class of 2027). I founded MedMoneyGuide to give physicians specialty-specific financial guidance, with sources you can check.